New Jersey's 24th Legislative District

Senator Steven Oroho

Senator Steve Oroho

Christie Signs Oroho Measure to Reduce Tax Burden on Businesses

Please Share:

Bookmark and Share

Legislation sponsored by Senator Steven Oroho (R-Sussex, Warren, Morris) to avert a substantial tax on New Jersey businesses has been signed into law.

“By reducing unemployment insurance tax rates for the upcoming fiscal year, this measure allows employers to continue adding jobs and increases the state’s competitive economic position,” said Oroho, a member of the Senate Economic Growth and Budget committees.

Senator Oroho’s S2404 eliminates a 10-percent surcharge on New Jersey employer unemployment insurance taxes during fiscal year 2014. This bill will avert a $300 million payroll tax increase, according to the Office of Legislative Services. It will save employers approximately $150 per employee.

Governor Christie signed the bill into law on Friday.

“To attract new businesses and jobs this legislature must continue to tackle issues like New Jersey’s high cost, burdensome tax structure and excessive red tape that have made our state less competitive under past administrations,” Oroho concluded. “To continue the state’s economic turnaround we must prioritize job growth over growth in government.”

Similar Posts on

Leave a Comment:

Comment Rules: Please remain civil, stay on topic, and refrain from using foul or abusive language. Posts that violate those rules may be hidden or deleted, and repeated violators may be blocked. To prevent spam, comments with links are automatically filtered.

NJ COVID-19 Information HUB

District 24 Guide

Steven Oroho

Steve's Bio & Public Service

Constituent Services

Steve Can Help You!

Contact Steve

Steve Wants to Hear from You!

District 24

About the Legislative District

Email Updates

Sign Up for Steve's Newsletter


Follow Steve's Page


Students - Get Involved

Legislative Activity

Committees, Bills & Votes


Tweet @stevenoroho

Steve's Recent Posts

- Proudly Serving Parts of Morris, Sussex and Warren Counties -