New Jersey's 9th Legislative District

Connors, Rumpf & Gove

District 9

Senate Passes Connors-Rumpf-Gove-Supported Bill Requiring South Jersey Representation on Turnpike Authority

Please Share:

Bookmark and Share

The New Jersey Senate has passed bipartisan legislation sponsored by the 9th District legislative delegation requiring at least one member of the New Jersey Turnpike Authority to be from South Jersey.

Legislation sponsored by Connors, Rumpf and Gove requires at least one member of the New Jersey Turnpike Authority to be from South Jersey. (

The measure, S-1674, sponsored by Senator Christopher J. Connors, would require at least one member of the Turnpike Authority must be a resident of Ocean, Atlantic, Burlington, Camden County, Cape May, Gloucester or Salem County.

Assemblyman Brian E. Rumpf and Assemblywoman DiAnne C. Gove are prime sponsors of the identical companion measure, A-3817, which is awaiting action by the Assembly Transportation and Independent Authorities Committee.

The 9th District delegation issued the following statement subsequent to the Senate’s approval of S-1674:

“Requiring South Jersey representation on the Turnpike Authority would provide the strong voice that our area of the state has been missing for too long. Having a representative from the southern end of the state is only sensible and fair when considering that such a large segment of the Garden State Parkway runs through our area of the state.

“Local residents are tired of the backroom political gamesmanship that favor one area of the state over another. This particular issue draws the ire of many of our constituents after having been targeted by the Corzine toll hikes years back. The powers that be saw fit to impose toll hikes on these commuters but, in typical Trenton fashion, have shown no interest in providing these toll payers with any representation on the Turnpike Authority.

“Consistent with our efforts in fighting for representation on the Turnpike Authority, we are also sponsoring legislation to require that at least two regular meetings of the Turnpike Authority be held in the Ocean-Atlantic-Cape May area. Local residents would have the opportunity to engage in the decision-making process involving infrastructure projects in their area as the legislation requires meetings to be rotated among those counties.”

Under S-1674, At least one member must be a resident of Mercer County, Middlesex County, or Monmouth County and at least one member must be a resident of Bergen County, Essex County, Hudson County, Union County, and Passaic County.

Similar Posts on

Leave a Comment:

Comment Rules: Please remain civil, stay on topic, and refrain from using foul or abusive language. Posts that violate those rules may be hidden or deleted, and repeated violators may be blocked.

The 9th District Team

Chris Connors

Senator - District 9

Brian Rumpf

Assemblyman - District 9

DiAnne Gove

Assemblywoman - District 9

District 9 Guide

Constituent Services

We Can Help You!

Contact Us

We Want to Hear from You!

District 9

About the Legislative District

Email Updates

Sign Up for Our Newsletter


Follow Our Page


Students - Get Involved

Legislative Activity

Committees, Bills & Votes

Printable Guide

Our Services & Programs


Tweet @9thDistrictNJ

VETeach Brochure

Last Salute - Military Funeral Honors For Our Fallen Brothers

Route 72 Manahawkin Bay Bridges Project Overview

Recent Posts

- Proudly Serving Parts of Atlantic, Burlington and Ocean Counties -