New Jersey's 7th Legislative District

Senator Diane Allen

Senator Diane Allen

Allen Bill Updates State Laws Concerning ID’s, Parking Placards for Disabled New Jerseyans

Please Share:

Bookmark and Share

Aims to Reduce Abuse, Wrongful Issuance of Parking Privileges

Legislation sponsored by Senator Diane Allen (R- Burlington) aiming to crack down on abuse and wrongful issuance of disabled parking placards has been approved by the Senate Transportation Committee.

“Every time someone who is not disabled inappropriately obtains or uses a placard, he or she takes that parking space away from someone truly in need, ” said Allen. “The goal of this bill is simple: ensure that the privileges attached to the “wheelchair placards” issued by MVC are only obtained by those in need, and only for the period of time in which those individuals are in need.”

Under the bill (S-2238), the application for disabled persons identification cards and parking privileges would require a signed verification by a physician, physicians assistant, licensed chiropractor, or nurse practitioner, of the applicant’s disability. Placards would expire and require renewal every three years, and the fees required to obtain disabled persons identification cards and parking placards would be waived.

The states of Florida, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and California exercise some or all of these restrictions.

“By waiving the fees associated with obtaining the identifications necessary to parki in spaces reserved for the disabled and requiring re-verification every three years by a licensed medical professional, we are reducing the opportunity for abuse of the privileges, ” Allen continued. “This bill is about protecting the rights of the disabled and ensuring that there is ample parking available to those who need it most.”

Please Share:

Similar Posts on

Leave a Comment:

Comment Rules: Please remain civil, stay on topic, and refrain from using foul or abusive language. Posts that violate those rules may be hidden or deleted, and repeated violators may be blocked.

District 7 Guide

Diane Allen

Diane's Bio & Public Service

Constituent Services

Diane Can Help You!

Contact Diane

Diane Wants to Hear from You!


Getting to Diane's Office

District 7

About the Legislative District

Email Updates

Sign Up for Diane's Newsletter


Follow Diane's Page


Students - Get Involved

Legislative Activity

Committees, Bills & Votes


Tweet @dianeallennj

Diane's Recent Posts

- Proudly Serving Parts of Burlington County -